Everything has changed

September 30, 2013 at 10:39 am (Family, Random)

Within the span of a weeks time, my entire world turned upside down. And it was the best thing that could have happened to me.

On Sept. 15, I said a tearful goodbye to the family known as Harvest Christian Fellowship. I have been involved with the church in varying degrees over the last decade, and my heart will always be at home in that sanctuary.

On Sept. 19, I left my home and native land. I crossed the border into the United States with the goal of becoming a permanent resident of this southern neighbour. Despite the move, I will always be a fiercely patriotic Canadian and devoted Ottawa Senators fan.

On Sept. 20, my three-year employment with the Cornwall Standard-Freeholder came to an end. It was an incredible experience to work full-time as a journalist in my hometown. I thoroughly enjoyed Monday evenings spent at city hall covering council meetings, delving into the arts community, writing about federal and provincial politics, and developing my skills as a photographer and reporter.

But the rainy afternoon of Saturday, Sept. 21, brought the most important change. I donned a lovely white dress, vowed to love and honour until death do us part, and became the wife of the most incredible man on the planet. It was a glorious day, despite the weather – I’ll be writing more about it later.

In the meantime, I’m adjusting to life as a married woman without a job in a new country. I couldn’t be happier.

we're married

Leave a Reply

