The end, for now

November 14, 2012 at 12:02 pm (Random)

It’s been seven weeks since I last posted. U.S. President Barack Obama was reelected, the Prime Minister went to India, I took my first week of vacation this year, and a hurricane devastated the east coast.

I haven’t written about any of those or many other significant events. I think it may be a sign.

I love blogging … connecting to the world … sharing the news … ranting about things that matter to me. As a journalist, it’s a great forum to comment on current events beyond my coverage area.
But I no longer have the time or priority for this as I used to. I’m comforted by the fact that I’m not one of those people that starts a blog, writes furiously for two days, and then lets it die a cold death in cyberspace. I’ve been posting consistently for nearly five years.

And so, after more than 700 posts, I’m letting my aspirations of earning a book deal from a blog die for now (kidding). I’m removing myself from any guilt over whether or not I’ve updated in recent days. And I’m turning my attention to other things.

Thank you for your thousands of hits, your hundreds of comments, and your dozens of follows. I feel the love, blogosphere, and I am grateful for it.

Don’t despair; I’m sure I’ll be back again someday.

6 Comments

  1. newfcollins said,

    Boo!

  2. Bill said,

    But what about updates on your bucket list? :(

  3. andrewbpaterson said,

    =\
    Maybe once a year you could write a post describing how many items you knocked off of your Thing-To-Do-Before-I-Die list!!

    God bless, Cheryl!

    • Cheryl said,

      Good call, Andrew! I’ll probably return to recap my most epic of adventures, at least.

  4. Journalists under Fire.. said,

    Translation..Sun Media empire is falling apart..and now journalist have to work 19 hr days or be replaced

    • Cheryl said,

      Uh well no. That’s not true. Not in my office anyway!

Leave a Reply

