2012 Olympics: Let the Games begin

July 27, 2012 at 9:05 am (News, Sports and fitness) ()

The 2012 Summer Olympics officially kick off tonight in London. I’m pretty pumped. I love watching all the sporting events and cheering on my favourite athletes. It brings out patriotism in us all but also gathers the world together.

Canada didn’t get off to a great start, though. Our first contest was a soccer game against Japan, which we lost 2-1. I was already bummed about this team, since Christine Julien was cut a few weeks ago – she’s from Williamstown, and this region’s only athlete who was in the race to compete for our country this year.

We have 281 representatives, with Simon Whitfield carrying the Maple Leaf in the opening ceremony tonight. I’ll be rooting for all of them … but I’ll also be supporting a couple other countries that I’m rather partial to. Colombia, for example. My home for almost a full year, I’m hoping their athletes take back some hardware.

Canada pulled in 18 medals in the last summer Olympics, held in Beijing in 2008. The most we’ve ever won was 44, when the Games were hosted by Los Angeles in 1984; our second place tally is half that, from 1996 in Atlanta. We earned a record amount in the winter Olympics held in our very own Vancouver two years ago: 26 medals, and 14 of them gold. The goal is a fourth place overall finish this year.

I’m really looking forward to the water sports … canoeing, diving, rowing. The cycling events are pretty entertaining as well. I want to catch some soccer, volleyball and running contests. There’s a blind archer from South Korea I’d like to see, and some of the gymnastics events are seriously impressive.

Ahh, I love the Olympics. GO CANADA!!

1 Comment

  1. andrewbpaterson said,

    Come Olympics time, I could sit in front of the TV for three weeks straight!!!
    Once I retire, that’s exactly what I’ll do!

Leave a Reply

