My first race

May 27, 2012 at 9:33 pm (Sports and fitness)

Well, I made it. I ran 10 kilometers.

Ottawa Race Weekend was phenomenal; such a great experience. I’m already aiming to run a half marathon next year, and stay for the entire weekend to cheer on all the racers.

I arrived around 3 p.m. on Saturday, in time to pick up my race kit, t-shirt and browse the expo. I watched the start of the 5k race – really cool to see the massive sea of people take off from the line. One runner had her stroller, another was taking photos with her DSLR as she jogged along.

The 5k start

My race began at 6:30 p.m. I wasn’t nervous at all as I joined the packed group of fellow runners. I had my music cued up, and started with a great stride. A couple of people I knew were just ahead of me, so I used them as my pacers for the first few kilometers. It was phenomenal to have such huge crowds for almost the entire route – both they and the hundreds of runners around me were great motivation. Tons of people had signs for friends and relatives, but my favourite was an older gentleman carrying a sign that said: “Run, random stranger, run.” So great.

I walked briefly at a couple of points, but I was far more comfortable running. I hit the 5k mark at 31:10 – my best time so far. At the 7k mark I had some cramps, right around the time my competitiveness kicked in as I watched so many people passing me. I picked up my pace a short time later, and crossed the finish line with a time of 1:08:38 – ahead of my goal of 70 minutes. Woo!

With my giant medal proving I finished

My gross heel post-race

Despite a blister that broke and filled my shoe with blood, it was a fun race and I felt great. Now I just have to keep up my training for the Boilermaker 15k in July.

With Tara and Wendy, fabulous ladies who ran the 10k also

With Jackie, one of my best pals who has been a huge inspiration for me in my running

I’m feeling pretty good today – just tired – but I’m fully expecting the soreness to hit me tomorrow. No matter, it was worth it!

2 Comments

  1. returnofthejack said,

    Love it! Way to go! Was a great day! :)

  2. Maria Vogel said,

    I’m impressed Cheryl :)

Leave a Reply

