Ottawa Race Weekend

May 22, 2012 at 7:41 pm (Sports and fitness)

Four days until my first race. Eeek.

New running shoes

I bought new shoes and I’ve been hitting the pavement every other day, with some biking and swimming thrown in the mix. I still haven’t run a full 10k, but I heard adrenaline kicks in during a race and carries you for a while, so hopefully I’ll be okay. I’m fairly certain I’ll be walking part of the way, but as long as I finish I’ll be happy.

I’m looking forward to the community aspect of it all – running alongside hundreds of other athletes who are either beginners like me or seasoned racers. It will also be nice to have cheering sections along the way, I’m sure that provides great motivation.

The Ottawa Race Weekend 10k starts at 6:30 p.m. on Saturday, with a beautiful route along the Rideau Canal.

I’ll let you know how I do, or you can follow my results – I’m the only Brink participating all weekend, so it shouldn’t be too hard. Stay tuned for an update afterwards and a look ahead to a 15k race I’m signed up for in July.

3 Comments

  1. returnofthejack said,

    WOOO!!! I’ll be there cheering you on!!! It’s true- the crowd will carry you in the final kilometers. It’s an amazing experience. Give it all you got!!

    • Cheryl said,

      Thanks, Jackie! So wish you were running it with me.

  2. oldoldwoodenship said,

    Sorry I wont be there to cheer you on in person…but I’m sending good vibes long distance. You’re gonna rock it!!!

Leave a Reply

