Helicopter, check

May 13, 2012 at 5:07 pm (To do before I die)

12. Ride in a helicopter

This was unexpected, to say the least. An association of pilots who fly out of the Cornwall Regional Airport hold a junior aviation day a couple of times a year, to give young children the chance to experience the wonder of flight – for free. As a lover of the air myself, I asked my Little Sister Bethanie if she wanted in. She did, so on Saturday morning we headed out to Summerstown, expecting a brief jaunt over the city in a four-seater Cessna.

When we arrived, the first thing I noticed was the helicopter parked on the tarmac. I’ve wanted to fly in one pretty much since my inaugural trip to the skies, so I asked Beth if she’d mind a ride in it, rather than a plane. She was game, and the organizers were willing to let me go along – despite not being a “junior aviator”.

It was seriously cool. It’s a bubble of glass – no fuselage or wings to obscure views of the ground and skies around us. Liftoff was smooth, a joystick the only real controller as we shifted to the right and then picked up speed and height.

It was a quick flight; we sped over Glen Walter and Summerstown before touching back down. Our pilot, Dave, has been flying the birds for a couple of years. Coincidentally, he was also the guy who took me up last year when I was reporting on the event for the paper.

Good times.

3 Comments

  1. newfcollins said,

    Nice! How many is left on your list?

    • Cheryl said,

      I think I’ve crossed off about 28 … lots still to go!

  2. Jason Brink said,

    Awesome! This makes me totally want to ride in a helicopter again. I remember the couple flights I got during my air cadet days, including in a Twin Huey. It was a fantastic feeling!

Leave a Reply

