Playoff predictions 2012, round one

April 12, 2012 at 4:10 pm (News, Sports and fitness) (, )

Hey look, it’s back. My annual series of blog posts on the NHL. Though I’m still not as avid a follower as many, I did manage to make it to a couple of Senators games this year, in addition to the rather fabulous All-Star exhibition in Ottawa. I would have crossed number 10 off my life to-do list, but alas, I have to work Monday evening when the Sens host the Rangers for the second match of the series.

I’m pumped to see a Canadian team at the very top of the standings this year, though I wish more than two had made the playoffs. Toronto’s failures don’t surprise me any longer, but I was bummed Calgary – my second favourite team – wasn’t able to squeeze into the top of the western conference.

Enough rambling. Here’s my predictions for round one of the playoffs, based on no expertise or significant research whatsoever. Leave your taunts, cheers or expectations of your own in the comment box below.

  • Los Angeles Kings vs. Vancouver Canucks – No question: Canucks in six
  • San Jose Sharks vs. St. Louis Blues – Sharks in seven
  • Chicago Blackhawks vs. Phoenix Coyotes – Blackhawks in six
  • Detroit Red Wings vs. Nashville Predators – Predators in five
  • Ottawa Senators vs. New York Rangers – I have faith: Sens in seven
  • Washington Capitals vs. Boston Bruins – Bruins in six
  • New Jersey Devils vs. Florida Panthers – Panthers in four
  • Philadelphia Flyers vs. Pittsburgh Penguins – Penguins in five
2 Comments

  1. Sean said,

    You wrote this after the Pens and Canucks went down in Game 1? You do have faith!

  2. Shannon said,

    oh canucks. oh canucks. I’m a fickle fan but 80% of me doesn’t believe they can make it back from this. Nice that you were rooting for us anyways!

Leave a Reply

