The Lytro

April 2, 2012 at 2:04 pm (Random) (, )

I finally picked up my Lytro just over a week ago, thrilled to finally hold this piece of cutting-edge technology in my hands. I’m so excited to be one of the first to try out the original light field camera, an incredible piece of equipment.

The Lytro camera

It’s very Apple-esque in its design, even in the packaging. Everything is sleek, user-friendly and intuitive. The camera’s built-in software only works with Macs as well.

I’ve taken it out a few times, shooting both general pictures and also attempting to make use of the depth of field re-focus that makes the camera so unique. While it will never replace the versatility of my Nikon, it’s a fabulous item to carry around when I don’t want to worry about timing or setting exposures. The shutter is instant, and the options after are amazing.

I’m not able to post the photos here without taking away that opportunity to play with the focal point, so you’ll have to visit my Lytro gallery to check them out.

2 Comments

  1. Bob Peters said,

    Cheryl…. Next time you are around the Complex … drop by with the Lytro… would love to try it! I am trying to suppress the envy….

  2. Angela Auclair said,

    okay. that was fun!!!! thanks:)

Leave a Reply

