The year of the race

January 19, 2012 at 11:54 am (Sports and fitness, To do before I die)

One of my major ambitions for 2012 was to run the Green Mountain Relay. However, the team that had invited me to join them couldn’t collect enough committed runners, so most of them decided to run the 15k Boilermaker in Utica instead. It’s a pretty major road race, with more than two thousand athletes already registered.

So, I followed suit. And because I felt like I need something to ramp up to that, I also signed up for the Ottawa Race Weekend 10k.

I’ve talked about doing races for, well, several years. But, I never have, due to cost or schedule conflicts or pure laziness on my part. Not this year. I’ve registered, spent my money, and told a bunch of people … including, now, the blogosphere. I’m determined to make this happen, even though it will probably mean waking up at 5 a.m. to go running before work.

Feel free me to leave training tips and motivating music suggestions, or share your own stories and encouragement, in the comments section.

1 Comment

  1. andrewbpaterson said,

    Awesome, Cheryl!!
    My advice would be…don’t be so committed to a training plan that you forget to listen to your body. Training and running should be fun. Sure there will be days when you don’t want to get out of bed at 5am, but learn to differentiate when your body is saying, “I don’t want to…I’m so laaaazy!” with, “I don’t want to…I need a day of rest.”
    Road races are SO much fun. You’ll love it!

Leave a Reply

