So … it’s Christmas.

December 23, 2011 at 3:48 pm (Random, Rants) ()

Maybe it’s because it has been so green lately, with barely a snowflake in sight all month long.

Maybe it’s because my family members out west have chosen to postpone a trip to Ontario until February, depriving us of exciting arrivals to look forward to.

Maybe it’s because an unusually high number of people have been ranting to me lately … so much for holiday cheer.

Maybe it’s because I’m working this weekend … again.

Maybe it’s because I attended a bunch of Christmas concerts and plays early in the season but then became caught up in various other – and unrelated to the time of year – activities.

I haven’t entirely put my finger on it, but I’m aware that I’m seriously lacking Christmas spirit. Oh, I’m excited for a candlelight Christmas eve service at my church, and seeing my massive and awesome extended family next week. But these last few weeks have been so busy, with work and random other commitments. My spare time has been filled with baking, shopping, wrapping, photo shoots and editing, etc. Which is not my usual routine. And none of it is Christmas to me.

I think part of it has to do with the sheer commercialization of the holiday, which I seem to be strangely vulnerable to this year. It’s also frustrating to see the continuing debate over “merry Christmas” verses “happy holidays”. From cancelled school Christmas concerts to holiday trees, the ridiculousness goes on. And all while the majority of people seem completely content with the day’s title. Christmas is the name on the calendar, and it’s going to take more than political correctness cops to change it.

As Richard Land wrote, it’s not easy to be a Christian at Christmastime. I’m hoping a good nights’ sleep and a read of the book of Luke will put me in the right frame of mind. I may have some shopping to finish first though …

Leave a Reply

