The picture revolution

October 26, 2011 at 9:26 pm (Photos) (, )

There’s this company in California called Lytro that has developed the world’s first light field camera. I still haven’t fully grasped the technology, but what it boils down to is that pictures can be taken and the subject can be focused later. Rather than having a focal point, the camera captures all of the light rays (11 million of them) so the photographer can decide what they want to be in focus after the fact, and change their minds even later than that.

It’s pretty crazy … slash amazing. Don’t take my word for it, go here and check out what they call living pictures.

The Lytro camera

The first camera was unveiled last week, as a regular subscriber to Lytro news, I checked it out. And began drooling. I managed to convince my sister, who happens to live in the U.S., to be my shipping station, since they aren’t sending these guys to Canada just yet. So tonight, I put in my order. I should have a graphite 8gb Lytro in my hand by next March.

I’m seriously excited.

The weather has thwarted plans for a couple of photo shoots this fall, but I have done two family sittings and I have a wedding coming up in less than two weeks. I finally managed to complete a contract, something I probably should have done quite some time ago. So … my photography is going somewhere. The progress is slow, which is fine with me considering I have about a zillion other commitments as well.

But I think the Lytro will re-ignite my passion for photography, for capturing moments and taking home a still frame of life. I don’t think it’s the be-all, end-all, and it will never replace my beloved Nikon. However, thanks to the focus-later technology, it will be easier than ever to snap the shutter without missing a thing.

I’ll let you know how it goes.

1 Comment

  1. Sean said,

    Cool. I’m glad someone I know who is a good, real-life photographer is getting one of these. We expect a full field report, with photos of course!

Leave a Reply

