U2, check

July 9, 2011 at 5:05 pm (Entertainment, Photos, To do before I die) ()

32. See U2 in concert

Wow. There are not enough adjectives to describe the display I saw last night at Montreal’s Hippodrome. It wasn’t just a concert, it was a full-out production of light, sound, and images.

It takes three days to set up this thing.

I went to the U2 show with my brother, sister and brother-in-law. We arrived around 4 p.m., a little intimidated by the massive amounts of people ahead of us, but we managed to stake out a spot only about five feet from the fence.

Ryan, Chris, Lisa and I ... and thousands of other people

It was crazy to see 75,000 people gather to hear four guys play music. We waited hours before they made an appearance … our feet were sore, we were drenched in a rainstorm after, we didn’t get home until 2 a.m. And it was all completely worth it. I have a couple video clips, though I apologize for the audio quality. No photos or film could capture that experience anyway …

Rocking out ...

My favourite song was Beautiful Day, mostly because it was introduced by Mark Kelly … from the International Space Station. He recorded a greeting during his recent mission on the Endeavour, then put cut-out words into the air that finished with “It’s a beautiful day.” He also recited some of the lyrics as Bono sang them out. It was so neat, especially for me because I followed that mission so closely. It was many additions to the set list that encouraged global citizenship and social justice.

Bono

There was always something going on … if it wasn’t music, it was images on the giant screen, lights and smoke, or moving stage pieces. City of Blinding Lights showcased it all to the max.

I only have a few complaints: the band didn’t play Magnificent, the security guy tossed my aluminum water bottle without so much as an explanation, and the dude beside me kept smoking pot … not cool, man.

But seriously, it was an incredible show and overall experience – one I’m thrilled to be able to check off my life to-do list. And with that, I’ve officially completed a quarter of the 100 items on that bucket list.

Bono on the big screen ... and me. My voice was shot the next day from all the screaming I did ...

Leave a Reply

