A year ago

July 3, 2011 at 9:47 pm (Colombia, Random)

Exactly one year ago I arrived home from Colombia. It’s hard to believe.

It feels like it’s been far longer. So much has happened … I have a new job, my own apartment, a car; I’m aunt to a couple more adorable kids; I traveled to Cuba; I am deeply committed to a church family.

And yet, the time has simply flown by. On July 2, 2010, I celebrated the graduation of six of my students. I can remember that evening like it was yesterday … hugging all of my friends goodbye and weeping as I walked up the mountain to my room for the last time, feeling that cool evening breeze and staring up at the wide starry sky. A few hours later, I was gone.

I miss it all.

I miss los estudiantes … my Grade 10 class graduated this weekend, and I had a lump in my throat as I looked at pictures of them in their caps and gowns. Only recently have I been able to look at their Facebook photos without tearing up. I miss my  fellow profesores … their passion for the job and their love for the kids. I miss the church … their enthusiasm and warm welcome. I miss my amigos … the people who made the experience so much more than just a year of teaching.

Though I will probably never go back for the same reason, I desperately hope to visit again soon. Te quiero mucho, Cali!

Leave a Reply

