Oma

June 19, 2011 at 7:30 am (Random)

My grandmother died on Thursday.

I wanted to write a long post filled with vivid descriptions of her personality and moving tributes to her character. But as I sit at my computer, I’m at a loss for words.

Instead I’m propelled back in time, to my pre-teen days when I would sleep in her basement with my cousin during visits to Orono. Her grandkids would play noisy games of kick the can in the backyard, then she’d call us to the patio for popsicles and cookies. She asked us about boys, clapped for our silly parades, and marched us upstairs to investigate spooky noises.

It seems like it was just yesterday that I sat at her kitchen table as she read the Bible after a meal, her voice washing over me like a gentle wave.  I climbed her trees, dressed up in her clothes, was enraptured by her stories.

She left behind seven children, thirty-one grandchildren and ten great-grandchildren … and every single one of them is devoted to the God that she so wonderfully portrayed to us. That is a rare legacy – one I desperately hope to claim when I reach the end of my life.

She was beautiful. Her laughter was music, her love boundless, her faith unwaveringly strong.

I miss you, Oma.

1 Comment

  1. Karen B said,

    Thats awesome Cher…

Leave a Reply

