Playoff predictions 2011, round one

April 13, 2011 at 2:52 pm (Sports and fitness) (, )

I’m leaving politics behind for a moment to blog about the NHL playoffs, also known as: the-time-when-I-pay-attention-to-hockey. Don’t get me wrong, I love Canada’s national sport. But considering I lack a consistent internet connection and cable TV, I haven’t put a lot of effort into following my favourite teams during the regular season.

Playoffs are a different story, especially when office pools are involved. There is little to no thought or strategy used in my predictions, but it’s a blast anyway. It’s easier to care about teams when there’s something riding on it … the Stanley Cup plus a yet-to-be-disclosed office prize for the pool champion. (It’s probably a year’s subscription to the paper.)

That said, here’s my picks for round one of the 2011 playoffs.

  • Washington Capitals vs. New York Rangers – Capitals in six
  • Philadelphia Flyers vs. Buffalo Sabres – Sabres in six
  • Boston Bruins vs. Montreal Canadiens – Canadiens in seven
  • Pittsburgh Penguins vs. Tampa Bay Lightning – Penguins in seven
  • Vancouver Canucks vs. Chicago Blackhawks – Canucks in six
  • San Jose Sharks vs. L.A. Kings – Sharks in five
  • Detroit Red Wings vs. Phoenix Coyotes – Red Wings in six
  • Anaheim Ducks vs. Nashville Predators – Predators in seven
5 Comments

  1. Sean said,

    “I haven’t put a lot of effort into following my favourite teams”
    That would be because they weren’t likely to make the playoffs after, say, September! ;)

    This is just the first round. Who are you picking to go all the way?

  2. newfcollins said,

    Go Habs!

    Are you in another office pool this year?

  3. Cheryl said,

    @Sean – Canucks!!

    @Tom – I’m just in the one pool at my office here in Cornwall. We published all our picks in the paper. :)

  4. andrewbpaterson said,

    go Bruins!!

  5. blair said,

    sens all the way, unless they meet up with the dreaded cornwall team

Leave a Reply

