Election 41: Day 18

April 12, 2011 at 1:07 pm (Election 2011, Politics)

I love Twitter. I used to check Google News multiple times each day, but now I just leave my Twitter feed open pretty much all day long. I follow mostly journalists, politicians and news outlets … and yes, I tend to agree with popular opinion that the social networking site is pretty much just media talking to each other. But I love it. I receive news faster than it reaches most websites, plus I can tap into the commentary and reaction. If you’re looking for recommendations of politicians or journalists to follow, just let me know and I can provide my favourites. Oh, and I’m on Twitter as @ReporterCheryl.

So what does this have to do with the election, you ask?

All of the issues surface on Twitter. The leak from the auditor general’s report was tweeted before any stories were posted or political parties began their spin. I watched the controversy evolve as journalists discussed and candidates either ran with it or away from it. The earlier story about Ignatieff’s voting record was quickly buried in the news feed.

So far today, no gaffes or glitches in the various campaigns. The conversation is mostly about the debate, which will begin in about six and a half hours. Green Party leader Elizabeth May will be live chatting throughout the evening, answering the same questions as the candidates who earned an invite to the discussion. I must say, I was disappointed to see podiums in the setup. I much prefer the round-table format from the last election.

Here in Stormont, Dundas and South Glengarry, the candidates are talking about how to engage the younger voters, which in some cases means using Twitter to reach residents. Here are links to local candidates’ accounts: Bernadette ClementEric Duncan (Guy Lauzon’s campaign manager) and Mario Leclerc.

Over in neighbouring Glengarry, Prescott and Russell, Liberal candidate Julie Bourgeois is the only one I’ve found on Twitter. The story of the day in that riding is a spat developing over vandalism to campaign signs.

Leave a Reply

