Food and fitness

March 15, 2011 at 9:53 pm (Random, Sports and fitness, To do before I die)

I’m running twice a week … at least. This has been going on for about … three weeks now. I’m on a roll, people!

Spring is in the air, and it makes running so much more enjoyable. The fresh air, the sparkling St. Lawrence, the melting snowbanks and dog poo underneath, the crisp wind. Infinitely better than the stale air inside the arena’s track, though I am thankful for that option.

I’m doing somewhere around three or four kilometers each run, but I’m working my way up. My goal of 5K tonight was thwarted by a bike path not yet free of snow and ice. Next time.

I have this other goal too, rather tied to my fitness ambitions, which actually includes a marathon someday in the faraway future. I’m determined to make one new recipe a week, in an effort to get my creative juices flowing in the kitchen and learn to enjoy cooking all over again, even if it’s only for one. So far I’ve tackled zucchini chowder, scalloped potatoes with ham (my mom’s birthday dinner) and broccoli quiche. I know, it’s not gourmet or even particularly exciting and healthy. But again, I’m getting there. It’s all part of my overall plan to enjoy life to its absolute fullest. And that totally includes food.

So … pass along your favourite recipes and running tips, and I’ll update ya’ll again sometime.

3 Comments

  1. Jackie said,

    Cheryl! You rock! Im also excited to run outside asthe weather gets better! As for recipes- I love homemade salsa (summer tomatoes are coming!) recipe on Returnofthejack.wordpress.com :) keep it up! The marathon might be sooner than you think! Whats kept me going is running in groups – let me know if you ever want to run together! Would love to run by the water with you!

  2. andrewbpaterson said,

    WRT running, you may not be excited thinking about going out when you’re in your warm bed, or when you’re nice and relaxed at home.
    Once you’re out, though, you remember why you love it so much…so invigorating! So freeing!!!

    Motivation is key…develop a system where you’re continuously receiving motivation (like talking about it on your blog!!!).

  3. insanity workout said,

    Find some thing active that you like to do and add it for your day, just like you would add healthy greens, blueberries or salmon. The benefits of lifelong exercise are abundant and regular physical exercise might even motivate you to make healthy eating a habit.

Leave a Reply

