Reporting and motherhood

February 25, 2011 at 4:53 pm (News, Rants) ()

According to Toronto Sun columnist Peter Worthington, mothers are unfit for war zones. He says whether they are journalists or soldiers, they should not be doing their jobs in international conflicts if they have children at home.

I’m all for the stay-at-home mom thing, but this is ridiculous. To say that I should not be allowed to pursue my passion by covering a war because I’m female and could have domestic responsibilities is rather insulting. I would never leave my kids to hop on a plane for dangerous regions if I wasn’t absolutely certain I had trusted people looking after them (like, say, a husband) and that it was the right thing to do.

But in recent weeks I’ve dreamed of being a correspondent in Northern Africa, and I’d jump at the chance to cover foreign events. I don’t think I’m any less qualified because I could be a mother someday. Wilf Dinnick agrees – and his wife was recently reporting from Egypt.

Leave a Reply

