I suck at curling . . .

January 27, 2011 at 1:02 pm (Sports and fitness, To do before I die)

. . . but I would like to get better.

Thanks to my colleague Greg (aka. Boomer), I had the chance to play in a funspiel in Vankleek Hill yesterday. I only curled once before … four years ago. Naturally, those memories came flooding back: the blue-sided Hay River curling club, Judy coaching me from the end, the fluke triple-take-out.

I didn’t have any such shots last night, but I think a couple sort of went in the right direction. That’s the good thing about being lead: most of the time your rocks don’t have any bearing on the final score. I felt a little better knowing one of the other members of our team was also a newbie … and that no one had money riding on our performance or anything.

Either way, last night made me want to actually be good at curling. I’d love to better understand the techniques and put some more practice under my belt. It’s just another one of my goals for winter 2011.

Oh … we lost the game. But I don’t think I held the team back too badly; they’re probably advancing to the tournament finals on Saturday. I may even be invited back!

1 Comment

  1. andrewbpaterson said,

    I organized a curling session for a bachelor party recently. My oh my, it was good times!!!

Leave a Reply

