Cornwall, part 2

January 26, 2011 at 9:49 am (Random) ()

“A little city with big potential, in a great location.”

That’s how my Dad describes Cornwall and area. It’s part of the reason he chose to put down roots in the region, despite being transfered to work in Ottawa several years ago.

Today I’m writing about development. There’s been plenty. Last week local officials sat on a panel to discuss economic growth for the future – I’ll admit I complained that there was little I hadn’t heard before, but nevertheless there has been a plethora of good news recently.

A new distribution centre. A couple of call centres. The recreation complex. A growing small business network. The bridge to Cornwall Island. Massive redevelopment at the hospital. There are announcements on the horizon as well.

We’re not there yet. It frustrates me to see politicians spouting off statistics about job growth as food banks beg for donations and welfare recipients despair of making progress. Combating poverty needs to be a higher priority . . . the highest. As business officials seek fresh investments, we must insure that new wealth is spread around. Whether that means better training for workers, extra cash for healthy alternatives for the poor, or other methods entirely, the less fortunate in our community should be more important.

I don’t have all the answers and I’m not using this space to bash others. 

Economic development manager Mark Boileau stands in front of the Shopper's distribution centre.

But I believe there is unending potential, in all sectors. We’re an hour from Ottawa, an hour from Montreal. We’re exactly along the highway 401 corridor and railway between major cities. We have direct access to the gorgeous St. Lawrence River and we’re 20 minutes from the United States. As far as location goes, we have some prime real estate. I think the city is doing a good job with increased marketing to outside investors and companies.

My vision is a completely revitalized and vibrant downtown, a glowing and utilized waterfront, and buzzing business community that offers employment to all skill levels and backgrounds. I know I’m not the only one.

I realize I joined the demographic that leaves Cornwall after high school for further education and job opportunities. I can’t blame anyone who does the same. But as St. Lawrence College grows and new businesses open their doors in the city, I just hope that I will also be part of another trend: young people returning to their hometown to work and live.

1 Comment

  1. Tweets that mention Cornwall, part 2 « Observations of a News Junkie -- Topsy.com said,

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Michele Allinotte, Cheryl Brink. Cheryl Brink said: “A little city with big potential, in a great location.” That’s how my Dad describes Cornwall and a http://bit.ly/gXEFIH […]

Leave a Reply

