The reporting thing

January 12, 2011 at 1:27 pm (News, Politics, Random)

This may be the longest period of time this blog has gone without a post. I blame Christmas . . . and all it’s chaos.

While I collect my thoughts enough to compose a coherent and striking post, I will leave you with a few articles that I have written lately and a note on why I like them.

  • Ravaged by Alzeimer’s
    I spent an hour and a half at a dining room table in Finch. The Tait family told me about watching their father and grandpa deteriorate from this disease. I saw tears glistening more than once. It’s always an honour to be able to tell these stories.
  • ‘Tis the season to give
    Though I quite enjoy the fast pace of a daily, I also like being able to work on more in-depth features at the same time. This article required some extra research and interviews, then some careful crafting of the facts. I am happy with the finished product and most of all, proud of my city’s generosity.
  • Race is on for provincial election
    I’m a geek. I’m already looking forward to all of the chaos that is an election. The province votes in October, and it’s shaping up to be an exciting race here in SD&SG since we currently have zero candidates. Incumbent Jim Brownell is stepping down, so all four parties will have nomination races in the coming months. Since I snagged the Queen’s Park beat, I’ll have first dibs on all the election-related stories.
Leave a Reply

