Christmastime

December 25, 2010 at 9:18 am (Random)

Merry Christmas!

Last year when I woke up on Dec. 25, I said feliz Navidad to my friend Sheri before we ate raisin buns and checked out the stockings hanging on our hostel door. We were in Cuzco, Peru, and far from our North American habits and traditions. Sheri threw on shorts – just to say she wore them on Christmas Day – and we wandered around the city. It was a strange but fantastic way to enjoy the holiday.

This year, I’m sitting in my apartment and bracing myself for my first assignment of the day. Yeah, I’m working. I’m the reporter on duty for Christmas weekend, since, you know, the news never stops. Or something like that.

It’s not so bad, really. Last night I thoroughly enjoyed a candlelight Christmas Eve service, then watched It’s A Wonderful Life (my favourite movie ever!) with my family. Tonight I’ll join my folks for dinner and possibly lace up my skates for the first time in over a year and a half. While I desperately miss South America, I am so thankful to be near friends and family … and yes, I love the snow.

It’s funny seeing people’s reactions when I explain our family plans for Christmas. I don’t think we have ever opened gifts on the morning of Dec. 25. Though the day does have significance, it means little in terms of events. With our giant family, we always had to plan around work and school schedules, travel plans and relatives. Christmas Day for me is whenever we are all together at home, which this year will be Jan. 1. I can’t wait.

I’m so thankful for Jesus … Immanuel. God with us, no matter where we are.

1 Comment

  1. Chris said,

    “I don’t think we have ever opened gifts on the morning of Dec. 25.”
    That made me chuckle inside. It’s the same deal with my family. But I don’t mind a bit.

Leave a Reply

