Becoming a Big

December 20, 2010 at 6:36 pm (Random)

It’s official. I’m going to be a Big Sister.

Nope, my mom is not having a baby … that’d be so weird.

I have been accepted into the Big Brother Big Sister program here in Cornwall. I’m hoping to be matched with a girl sometime in January.

It was quite a process to get here. After an initial application, I had an evening of training in child safety and other topics, then a two-hour intake interview about everything from my job to my childhood to what I think about domestic abuse and what if I had a Little with gay parents. It was slightly intimidating, but apparently I did okay because the board of directors approved me.

Now, after the caseworkers meet with some of the Little candidates, I will be presented with three options and asked to choose who I think would be the best match.

I’m thrilled. I’m nervous.

I hope I can be a good friend to a girl who needs a positive role model, provide new opportunities, and support for her dreams.

5 Comments

  1. Sharon said,

    Congratulations! I know you will be a great Big Sister! I’m a Caseworker at BBBS here and just love the program. Have fun with your little!

  2. Grace said,

    Good for you!! I’m sure you will do well

  3. Shannon said,

    That’s so cool Cheryl. I wish you were my big sister. I’m excited to hear all about it and meet her!

  4. Jason said,

    Congrats Cheryl… What a great way to contribute to the community. I’m interested in hearing about your experience as a Big Sister… keep us posted.

  5. andrewbpaterson said,

    that’s awesome, Cheryl!!!
    DEFINITELY keep us posted!

Leave a Reply

