Finding the hope

November 20, 2010 at 11:03 am (Ministry, Random)

This morning Cornwall was blanketed with door hangers with a message. Across the city, volunteers walked the streets to deliver these notices, a preview to something that is coming-soon-to-a-mailbox-near-you.

It’s a campaign that I’m a part of, and I’m really rather excited about it. I won’t give it all away, except to say that this initiative is all about hope. I’ve heard a lot of positive things about the city, but I know there is a huge population of Seaway Valley residents who don’t believe this region will ever change. I read articles that make me smile, then scroll down and see dozens of comments from people saying that no one should get their hopes up, don’t bother dreaming, nothing will get better.

I hope this campaign is a wake up call of sorts. I want to see this city begin to dream again – and not just to have a good waterfront and plenty of call centres, but to become a place of productivity, of joy, of vivacious living, of hope for the future.

But hope has to be based on something. Hope without substance is pointless. The goal of this campaign is to offer that substance, that truth, the point of it all.

So, Cornwall … watch your mailbox next month and let us know what you think.

Leave a Reply

