Thanksgiving Day

October 11, 2010 at 10:55 am (Random)

I am so thankful. And on this, our Thanksgiving Day, I thought I’d share a few of those things that I’m grateful for …

 

Hiking Mt. Lyon

  • Seasons! I forgot how much I absolutely LOVE autumn: the colours, the smells, the sounds. After a year of eternal summer in South America, I’m rather enjoying the gloriousness that is fall, especially during a hike in the Adirondacks yesterday.
  • Family. Even though half of my immediate family is scattered at the moment (including my dad, who is celebrating his birthday in Denmark today), I am grateful to have such incredible people in my life.
  • Nikons. Sounds lame, but I am rather in love with my camera these days. I’ve been editing photos until my eyes glaze over, but I am thoroughly enjoying capturing some new challenges with each click of the shutter.
  • My church. These people let my play bass guitar on stage even though I haven’t practiced in – I admit it – years. That’s grace, man. They also gave me a microphone a couple weeks ago and let me ramble about things I’m rather passionate about. They rock.
  • New experiences. Even though I’m starting to “settle in” to a city I’ve lived in for three-quarters of my life, there are still things I can call new. I’m learning – hip hop, for example – meeting people, exploring and finding ways to be challenged and grow.
Leave a Reply

