SF: Week four

September 3, 2010 at 9:28 am (News)

Well, I’ve been here a month. And I love it. I’ve written a few stories that I’m pretty proud of, and I thought I’d share them here in case any of you care to read them.

  • Officers scrutinized over burial – This one made it into the Ottawa Sun.
  • OxyContin crisis grows – I worked on this one for two weeks and still didn’t interview everyone that could have given input. It’s a big issue and I hope that by writing about it, I can help stir more people to action.
  • Award-winning duo Madison Violet performs – I’ve shot a ton of bands, from Our Lady Peace to my brother’s jamming pals, but this is probably the biggest group I have interviewed. Well, until April … when I’ll get to chat it up with Gordon Lightfoot!
  • Getting to the bottom of unit’s closure – This was also a large piece that took several days to make coherent, but it was quite interesting.

I’ve also been doing some photography lately – check out some new shots on my photog blog. I just did a wedding last weekend so watch for some pictures from that, coming soon.

2 Comments

  1. andrewbpaterson said,

    wow…that’s awesome, Cheryl. Congrats!
    I noticed that you’ve been posting a little less and less on here…understandable.

    I was hoping you’d come out with some inspiring post about the trapped Chilean miners, and how they seem to be surviving quite well!!! 3 months is a long time for a rescue, but I can’t imagine what it’ll be like when they see sunlight again. AMAZING!
    Sorry…that’s a HUGE aside, not even remotely relevant to this post. My bad!

  2. Shannon said,

    Nice Oxycontin article! Good work Cheryl! You’re such a natural at this! Hope the job is going well!

Leave a Reply

