SF: Week one

August 6, 2010 at 6:00 pm (Random)

I loved my old job as a reporter for the good ol’ Kanata Kourier-Standard. I had so many great opportunities, learned so much and appreciated being a valued source of local news.

That said, I feel like I have moved up in the world of journalism.

I don’t know why I was cautious about doing the daily thing. Maybe I was worried about getting caught up in the pace and the grind and lose my love of the story, the writing process, the capturing of a cause or an issue or a person. Perhaps that should still be a concern.

But as I reflect on my first week at the Standard Freeholder, my emotions are more along the line of proud, fulfilled, excited. Sure, it was just a few days … but I wrote some fun stories, received some complimentary feedback from my editor and a colleague, saw my byline on the front page three times, and felt like I fully immersed myself in all that is Cornwall.

That said, it was a little bit of culture shock all over again. I’m not going to lie, I felt exhausted this morning and not entirely sure why. Though I legitimately worked full days and weeks in Colombia, the environment and culture was so different. I suppose this job has thrown me back into the 9-5 quest for the (North) American dream … or something. It’s just different. I’ve had to adjust. But I think I’m there, and as mentioned … I’m pretty much loving it.

1 Comment

  1. andrewbpaterson said,

    That’s awesome.

Leave a Reply

