Lord of the Rings, check

July 30, 2010 at 10:01 am (Entertainment, To do before I die)

52. Watch the Lord of the Rings trilogy right after each other

I crossed this one off my life to-do list yesterday. The day was probably one of my most lazy days ever, but hey, I start work next week so I figured it was a good enough excuse to sit back and tackle this one.

I’ve actually never watched the extended versions of the trilogy before. I didn’t have The Two Towers extended, but it was cool to watch the extra scenes in The Fellowship of the Ring and The Return of the King. I started the first film around 9 a.m., and finished the last one fifteen minutes before midnight. I did some other activities in between each one so I didn’t turn into a complete vegetable, but I completed them all in a day.

So call me a huge geek or whatever, but I absolutely adore this trilogy. It’s beyond epic, especially watched in such a short time period. Stories like this one remind us all that we are living in a story that is bigger than us. We are part of something – it might not be as tangible as orcs vs. elves or anything, but we are part of a world of good vs. evil.

“All we have to decide is what we are going to do with the times that are given to us.” – Gandalf

Our lives are meant to be lived for something more than our own small-minded objectives and preferences. That is why these movies make us cry (or is that just me?), why the hero’s rallying call inexplicably stirs our hearts.

“If this is to be their end, then I would have them make such an end as to be worthy of remembrance.” – King Theoden

Sometimes we need to be rallied; we need to be reminded. We are stuck in the small things; we are afraid of humiliation and rejection. We forget we are one in billions, yet created with a purpose unique from all others. We are part of a huge story, yet one that we must play a role in.

“Even the smallest of us can change the course of the future.” – Galadrial

Oh, and Sam is most definitely my number one favourite character.

“It’s all wrong. By rights we shouldn’t even be here. But we are. It’s like in the great stories, Mr. Frodo. The ones that really mattered. Full of darkness and danger, they were. And sometimes you didn’t want to know the end. Because how could the end be happy? How could the world go back to the way it was when so much bad had happened? But in the end, it’s only a passing thing, this shadow. Even darkness must pass. A new day will come. And when the sun shines it will shine out the clearer. Those were the stories that stayed with you. That meant something, even if you were too small to understand why. But I think, Mr. Frodo, I do understand. I know now. Folk in those stories had lots of chances of turning back, only they didn’t. They kept going. Because they were holding on to something.” – Sam
“And what are we holding on to, Sam?” – Frodo
“That there’s some good in this world, Mr. Frodo. And it’s worth fighting for.” – Sam

2 Comments

  1. Shirly Brink said,

    you are completely insane. ;) Welcome home and the best to you on the new adventure. ;) Love Shirl

  2. Jason B said,

    Man, I love these movies too!! So epic. And so many great life lessons in there!

Leave a Reply

