The Standard Freeholder

July 23, 2010 at 12:45 pm (News, Random)

I sent out only one resume. I had two interviews – one official, one informal. I sign the papers next week, but I can say with confidence that I am now the newest member of the Standard Freeholder‘s editorial staff.

I am so stoked. The timing was absolutely perfect: they had an opening just when I was moving back to Cornwall after five years, with a start date only a week after my family’s vacation. I’m not going to lie, I’m looking forward to receiving my first paycheque in about a year.

My job as a multimedia reporter begins on August 3. So all you Cornwallians out there – send me your story ideas! This position will be a change from my last journalism job. For starters, this is a daily paper rather than a weekly; a broadsheet rather than a tabloid. I also have no interaction with the layout, which I will actually miss since pagination was an aspect I really enjoyed and was a nice break from interviews the rest of the week. This newsroom will have a faster pace and a different approach to delivering the news.

I’m excited for the new challenge. I’m looking forward to being part of a team that provides the main source of news for the entire city. I will also have a greater awareness of my reader: for a change I will know many of them personally.

And so … the next chapter of my life begins. And it is looking good.

3 Comments

  1. Ryan Brink said,

    Yay!

  2. andrewbpaterson said,

    congrats, Cheryl!

  3. Katie said,

    Way to go, Cheryl!
    I’m just getting caught up on online stuff so I am a little behind in sending a high five your way.
    Can’t wait to see clippings. :)

Leave a Reply

