Colombia Day

July 20, 2010 at 8:43 am (Colombia)

Today is Colombia’s Independence Day. I’m a little bummed I’m not in Cali to experience such a huge holiday, but a few days ago I tried to recreate some of my South American experiences for my family.

For starters, I made breakfast …

Scrambled eggs - Emilse style. With pepper, onion and the best salt combo you've ever had. Seriously.

I successfully made arepa, which were a big hit.

… complete with agua panella.

I played Spanish music all day, showed a slide show of pictures from Cali, and gave out all the random gifts I bought for my family. They included Colombian traditional hats for a couple of my nephews, a hammock made in the colours of the flag, Colombian coffee, some Peruvian mugs and other awesomeness. Oh, and salt – seriously, this stuff will change your life.

And I made dinner …

Beans, rice, beef filets, fried plantain = awesome.

Mmmmmm

And fruit salad for dessert. Muy rico!

3 Comments

  1. returnofthejack said,

    It all looks soooo good! I know who’s cooking next time we get together! ;)

  2. angelica aguas said,

    Wow! Miss brink, that food looks awesome!! Yo quiero un poquito! Me alegra que hayas disfrutado ese día con tus familiares…. I miss you!

  3. Cheryl said,

    Gracias, Angie! I miss you too!

Leave a Reply

