Nine months later …

May 20, 2010 at 9:52 am (Colombia, Random, Travel)

I had no idea what I was getting myself into when I said a tearful goodbye to my family at the Montreal airport and got on a plane bound for South America. Nine months ago today I arrived in Cali.

It’s hard to believe it’s been so long since I moved here, and almost as hard to believe is that I only have about six weeks before I go home.

Nine months. Nine months since …

I wish I could take a palm tree with me when I go home.

  • I drove a car.
  • I was able to properly communicate with strangers.
  • I ate lasagna.
  • I hugged my nephews or niece. (Two nephews have arrived since I left!)
  • I visited a Tim Hortons.
  • I bought new clothes – believe it or not. I just bought shoes.
  • I could understand every conversation around me, whether or not I was a participant.
  • I wore a coat … and I’ve only worn something with long sleeves a few times.
  • I rented a movie.
  • I watched live English TV, including hockey, which is just wrong. Internet radio doesn’t cut it.
  • I had waffles.
  • I ran for longer than about five kilometers. I can only go around in a circle here and it gets pretty boring pretty quickly.
  • I played Settlers. I’m going to get creamed when I go home.

Since the date on my return ticket is fast approaching, I have been trying to prepare myself for the culture shock I expect to hit me. It’s actually really odd for me to picture myself back in Ontario, to think about being able to communicate with receptionists and cashiers, to remember what it’s like to drive a car … alone … anywhere. It will be an adjustment for sure. I’m not looking forward to saying goodbye to everyone that I have come to know and love here in Colombia, but of course I’m ridiculously excited to be with my family and friends again.

Only one week until I return to Canada for a wedding!

1 Comment

  1. Karen said,

    That’s crazy! But man… I’m excited to have you home again Cher!

Leave a Reply

