Lost: from season one

May 19, 2010 at 11:39 am (Entertainment) ()

I haven’t seen What They Died For yet … hopefully today. But several weeks ago I decided to rewatch as much of Lost as possible before the finale, just to refresh my memory and see how everything comes together.

So far I’ve completed the first three seasons – which tells you how much of a life I have here – and it’s neat to see how questions that came up at the very beginning have finally been resolved in the last season. I’ve watched a ton of Lost in a very short time period, and as much as I love the entire show, I feel like the first three seasons were quite slow-moving compared to seasons five and six. It was very character-focused, and it wasn’t until later on that more mythology and sci-fi stuff became central to the plotline. Jacob didn’t appear at all (minus a few passing references) but we know now how crucial he is to the entire show. But I think it worked well – it drew people into the lives of the Losties and then slowly revealed what was going on behind the scenes. I’m glad the producers decided to give us the final download of myths and history in Across the Sea, so the final three and a half hours can once again focus on the characters we have come to know and love.

There are still plenty of unresolved questions, though. I’m okay with the creators not spelling out everything, but I thought I’d share some of my issues in case some of you fabulous readers have answers that I missed.

  • Ben’s mother and Walt were both seen on the island – though neither were apparitions of the Black Smoke. Can the island itself use human likeness to guide people? Also, does the Man in Black have the gift of seeing dead people, or was his vision of his mother something the island used to guide him as well?
  • Why can’t Locke see Jacob when he and Ben first go to his cabin? Jacob shakes the shack and whispers to Locke while remaining invisible, but he doesn’t reveal those kind of powers ever again.
  • When the freighter arrives at the island, and Miles reveals that they are there for Benjamin Linus, he holds up a picture of Ben, who is wearing a sweater vest in a location that looks extremely similar to the high school he is a teacher at in the Sideways world.

One thing I really hope is explained in more detail is the conflict between destiny and free will. “You don’t have a choice,” is a common refrain on the island – beginning with Jacob’s fake mom telling him he had to become the next protector. Yet nearly everyone has at some point said, “don’t tell me what I can/can’t do,” or been assured that they have the option of changing their mind. So which is it?

I’m so excited for the finale but I’m not looking forward to the end of my most favourite show ever. I have been so much more invested in Lost than anything else I’ve ever watched.

As always, I want to hear your thoughts and theories – leave them in the comments!

Leave a Reply

