Headlines

April 27, 2010 at 9:50 am (News, Politics)

I am still reading the news voraciously, time and distance haven’t really changed a thing in that regard. Here’s some articles that have caught my attention recently and thought were worthy of being passed along.

  • Sex offender registry loophole
    From a government that has prided itself on being tough on crime, I really hope to see some changes to this soon. The fact that nearly all of the sex offenders that apply for a pardon receive it, which automatically removes them from the registry as well, is more than a little scary.
  • Icelandic volcano eruption
    This isn’t an article, it’s just photos, but some of them are spectacular shots of the ash clouds and eruption (near the bottom).
  • Jennifer Knapp leaves the closet
    I know there has been rumors about this Christian artist for years, but I was either unaware or naive, because her announcement last week that she is in a lesbian relationship caught me by surprise. I’ve been a fan of hers since my older sister bought her first album.
  • Tories won’t fund abortion
    The Conservatives have finally taken a stand and declared that their contribution to the G8’s child and maternal health plan will not include abortion. After weeks of saying they don’t want to open the debate, it looks like they have shut the door on it pretty firmly. I agree with the move, but even if you don’t, I think you’ll agree that it’s nice to see the Tories taking a hard stance on a major issue for a change.
Leave a Reply

