Playoff predictions 2010, round one

April 14, 2010 at 8:10 pm (Sports and fitness) (, )

I know, I know. I’m a little behind the times. The 2010 NHL playoffs have already begun, and I’m listening to the Ottawa Senators’ first game against the Penguins (Sound familiar? See: 2008) as I write this. But even though I’m on a different continent from all the teams, I thought I’d engage in the process anyway and make my annual predictions for the first round, minus last year when I was in a hockey pool. Speaking of pools, I finished fourth out of eight people in the regular season pool with former co-workers. Not too shabby.

And here are my predictions …

West
San Jose Sharks vs. Colorado Avalanche – Sharks in five games
Chicago Blackhawks vs. Nashville Predators – Blackhawks in seven games
Vancouver Canuks vs. Los Angeles Kings – Canuks in six games
Phoenix Coyotes vs. Detroit Red Wings – Red Wings in seven games

East
Washington Capitals vs. Montreal Canadiens – Capitals in six games
New Jersey Devils vs. Philadelphia Flyers – Devils in five games
Buffalo Sabres vs. Boston Bruins – Sabres in six games
Ottawa Senators vs. Pittsburgh Penguins – Senators in seven games

Currently, Ottawa is beating the Pens in the third period, 4-3. Go Sens!

What do you predict? Do you agree with me or not? Leave your comments!

1 Comment

  1. blair said,

    Cheryl, yer such a homer! Pretty good picks though — especially in the west.

Leave a Reply

