Resume writing

April 12, 2010 at 10:04 am (Random, Rants)

Can I just say that resume writing sucks?

It’s been more than two years since I did a serious polishing of my credentials before landing a superb job with the Ottawa Region Media Group. I was planning on just brushing up and personalizing that same resume before sending it out to potential employers for when I return to Canada. Bad idea, I know.

I thought I’d do a quick search online to make sure my resume was still up-to-date, and I’m sure glad I did. It seems like there are new dos and don’ts for resume writing every few months. I don’t mind the writing and the editing – hey, it’s what I’m trying to do for a living – but it’s never knowing if the finished product is exactly what is expected, if it’s catchy enough, did I sell myself too much or too little? I’m not comfortable bragging about my accomplishments normally, but at the same time of course I want to tell a future boss that I’m capable and valuable.

Anyway, I spent over an hour rehashing my resume and adding a new list of references before deciding to rewrite it completely. It’s finally done, and I sent it off to my number one choice for future employment last week. Now, I wait …

Leave a Reply

