The end in sight

March 27, 2010 at 9:16 am (Colombia, Travel)

I always feel like I’m expressing dissatisfaction with life here in Colombia whenever I write about how much I miss home or begin a countdown until I leave. That is certainly not the case. But hey, it’s been seven months and I think I’m allowed to miss my family.

And the end of my time here is beginning to loom. I am being asked on a more regular basis if I am going to return next year, and I try to shrug off the question. I told my eighth grade class that I loved it here, yet missed home, but I loved all of them. They collectively said “Aaawww,” then in the pause that followed one student said “Que te dijo?” (What did she say?) Everyone burst out laughing. In all seriousness though, I have decided not to return for a second year of teaching, the reason for which I may or may not elaborate on later, but basically has to do with number 100 on my life to-do list.

In exactly two months I will be boarding a plane bound for Toronto, where I will be welcomed at the airport by some members of my family before being whisked off to help with preparations for my cousin’s wedding on May 29. Needless to say, I freakin’ can’t wait! I’ll be in Ontario for five days before coming back to Colombia for the final month of school.

It’s hard to believe there is only one period remaining in the academic year. One more round of compiling grades; one more week of review, exams and projects; one more teachers’ meeting to discuss how our students behaved; one more morning of explaining report cards to parents; one more afternoon of writing and translating logros for each class. Then, a school retreat, graduation, and saying goodbye. I am absolutely not looking forward to that. I love all the kids, the teachers, the environment, Emilse. At least I know I can come back and visit someday …

3 Comments

  1. Karen said,

    Yay, I can’t wait to see you!!! :)

  2. Sarah said,

    Of course you can!!! Colombia will always have her arms open for you!!! We love you!!! God has awesome things for you! Who knows what your next adventure will be!!!

  3. Mel said,

    Of COURSE you are allowed to miss your family! I’ve been in Dawson for almost 3 years, and although I call it home, I still totally miss you guys! Family is family, no matter where you go, right?

Leave a Reply

