Recap: Jan. 31 – Feb. 6

February 6, 2010 at 10:16 am (Colombia)

This week was less controversial as the last one, though I’m still cracking down in my classes on disrespectful behaviour or late homework.

  • Sarah – the pastor’s daughter – and her husband returned to Canada this week. I was sad to see them go, as we’ve had lots of good times together and I always appreciated having some native-English speakers to hang out with.
  • I had a total of four classes cancelled this week, all of them without any advanced notice. The students were busy visiting universities or practicing a dance presentation for the community. I didn’t mind, but I’ll have some catching up to do with eleventh grade, since three of those four sessions were with them.
  • I arrived in the preschool classroom just in time on Tuesday to help clean up a boy who had thrown up all over himself and the floor. Oh joy!
  • After about two weeks of laziness, I finally went out for a run this morning … and it just happened to be the first morning in what feels like a couple months that it decided to start pouring rain. I didn’t mind though – we need every drop!
  • The other English teacher that also lives on the compound here downloaded the season premiere of Lost and a few of us are gathering later today to watch it. I can’t wait to see how everything will be wrapped up in the final season.

Sixteen weeks until I’m in Orono to see my beautiful cousin get married!

Leave a Reply

