Recap: Jan. 17 – 23

January 23, 2010 at 2:25 pm (Colombia)

The recaps are back, with an adjusted format. I apologize for the lack of posts this week, but I haven’t had a whole lot to say to the blogosphere lately. Anyway, here’s some recent highlights:

  • The most exciting thing that happened this week was, of course, the birth of the newest member of the Brink clan, Silas Gabriel. I was able to meet him on a Skype call and I’m even more positive that he’s the most adorable baby out there.
  • On Sunday I chose not to join the congregation of Ekklesia, but instead put my headphones on and became a virtual part of the service at my home church, Harvest Christian Fellowship. Thanks to webcams, I was able to say hello to family and friends in Cornwall and hear some English worship songs for a change.
  • Another member of that church has joined me in Cali for a couple weeks to do some electrical work at the school. He had some time to play with the students too, teaching them how to make balloon animals and swords.

    Jim Morris makes the kids happy with rabbit and sword balloons.

  • The English elective I co-teach more than doubled in size this semester. The newscast we put together in December was a big hit and expectations are high for the next presentation in June, so we already began work on the end-of-year project: a longer dramatic video. The students are writing all their own parts, after some plot tweaks from us instructors.
  • In eleventh grade we began reading a Ted Dekker book and had our first discussion about it on Friday. It’s going to be a difficult read for them but I think it’s going to be a cool experience … but then, I’m already a Dekker fan.
Leave a Reply

