Peru, here I come!

November 27, 2009 at 8:05 am (Travel)

In one month I will be chilling on the Alto Madre de Dios River in the Amazon jungle of Peru. Needless to say, I am ridiculously excited.

The last bell of the academic period will ring here at Colegio Ekklesia on Friday, Dec. 18. Three days later I will hop on a plane for a short jaunt over to Lima, Peru, where my friend Sheri will meet me at a beautiful inn only minutes from the coast of the south Pacific Ocean. That’s right, the beach. After taking care of some business (applying for another work visa so I can stay in Colombia until July without any hassle), we are hoping to nab a surf lesson and explore the city.

I can't wait to get my own sweet photos of the ancient ruins of Macchu Picchu.

On Christmas Eve, we’re flying over to Cuzco, where we’ll spend Christmas Day before heading out on our four-day tour of the rainforest. It was either see the jungle and canoe down the river or save some money and spend a couple days on a bus exploring the mountains and more of the country. The Amazon won … this time.

After arriving back in Cuzco, we’ll have a day to do more exploring (and hopefully go bungee jumping!) and ring in the new year. Then we’ll be strapping on our backpacks for a trek up the Inca Trail to Macchu Picchu.

Then it’s back to Lima for one more day of probably shopping and relaxing on the sand.

I know you’re all salivating right now and I apologize for making you all insanely jealous (but not really). This is going to be an incredible trip and I can’t wait for it to begin ….

8 Comments

  1. Matthew Barker said,

    Hi there – just came across your travel plans, they sound great! Hope you have a great time in our amazing country, and please let me know if you need any tips, advice or travel information.
    Buen Viaje! Matthew

  2. Jason said,

    Yup, I’m a little jealous, Cheryl, but it sounds like some GREAT plans! Hope you have an awesome visit.

  3. Kevin said,

    You’re crazy go nuts! And yes, I’m way jealous… I wanna go to some random country to see alligators and ancient ruins… :P

    And.. Wow…. Those ruins look insane! I actually didn’t think it was a real picture at first! Waaaah… That landscape is… Incredible! Can’t wait for photos of that!

  4. Kerri said,

    so. jealous.

  5. andrewbpaterson said,

    I was BORN in Lima, but I’ve yet to check out Macchu Picchu…have an awesome time!

  6. Ryan Parent said,

    Oh man you are sooooo lucky!!! Make sure to post your pics when you get back I would love to see them!!!

    Ottawa photographer

  7. Shirly Brink said,

    I shall live vicariously through your fantastic photos. Have fun, safe travels my dear.

  8. Jen said,

    You are going to love it! Be sure to pack everything in plastic bags for the Inca trail hike, as well as good rain gear. You’re there in the rainy season. Oh and take advantage of hot showers on the third night. Well worth the S/ 3.

Leave a Reply

