H1N1 rumours

November 17, 2009 at 3:18 pm (News, Rants) ()

As H1N1 continues to run rampant, so do conspiracy theories … and some ideas that don’t seem so far-fetched. I find it difficult to navigate online sources of information, and I’ve heard arguments both for and against the vaccination from people I trust (including someone who used to work for the World Health Organization, who is against). I’ve also heard that there’s an American patent for the swine flu vaccine from a couple of years ago – though I wouldn’t be able to understand it all even if I had read the application – and that the WHO offered the first vaccine before the first case of H1N1 was diagnosed. If that’s true, there is definitely something fishy going on.

I haven’t been very affected by the chaos surrounding the virus here in Colombia, but it has hit home. My sister wasn’t officially diagnosed, but my parents were fairly certain she had a mild case of it. She recovered quickly and is doing fine now. I know of several other people that had it as well, but recovered without any major issues.

While I have no intention of getting the vaccine, my pregnant sister-in-law (who is a nurse) opted for the shot, as well as my other nurse sister and her husband – but not for their 10-month-old baby.

And then there’s people like the former health minister for Finland, saying things like this:

As much as two per cent of Canada’s H1N1 vaccinations have been thrown out because they have passed their “best before” date, and right now I’m not entirely sure that’s such a bad thing.

So, what’s your take on the “pandemic” and surrounding panic? Are you getting the flu shot or are you staying far away from the long line-ups and crowded clinics?

4 Comments

  1. Katie said,

    Still completely undecided. Because of an immune system disease, I can’t get the regular one anyway, I need the same as the pregnant ladies. I was sort of hoping I’d have it figured out by now but I don’t.
    On The Citizen website, it was interesting to see reader’s comments about stories. People were pointing fingers in regards to others “jumping the line.” They were freaking out.
    I’ve also been accused, as a member of the media, of creating panic, ha ha. I had a local town councillor point at me directly and rant about the media. However, our paper doesn’t report panic. We listed clinic dates and updates about actions the hospitals were taking. That was it. A couple of stories, really.
    Anyway. My point is, I still don’t know.

  2. Janet Skafte said,

    currently we’re on the fence. We were totally against the vaccine a couple weeks ago but we’re just watching and listening, for any new information that might sway us in either direction. The thing is theres a ridiculous amount of bogus H1N1 info out there you dont know whats true or not!

  3. Jen said,

    As a former member of the media and current health care worker, I think that the media has definitely caused a crazy panic over the whole situation. Sure there are a lot of really sick people being admitted to ICUs across Canada, but the majority have an underlying health concern from asthma, immune deficiency, chronic illness etc. And there are no accurate statistics to relate the number of people who have had H1N1.

    Fall is a prime time for all influenza to come out. This year the vaccine for Influenza A was only given to the elderly. And every year hundreds of people die from the regular influenza. We don’t hear about them every year!

    Getting the flu shot is a personal choice. I’m normally tired from working night shifts, so more likely to get sick. I get my flu shot every year, because I would rather try to prevent getting sick if I could. But there are lots of people out there that don’t get their flu shots and don’t get sick. The best thing to do is to wash your hands, cover your mouth when you cough, get lots of rest and eat healthy.

  4. Sheena said,

    I won’t be getting me flu shot, and haven’t yet. I’ve been doing a lot of back and forth about this, espcecially as I lay in my bed with a terrible cold as I type this.
    I’ve never gotten the normal flu shot so I just don’t see why I would get the H1N1.
    I undersatnd the arguments but would like a little more research…..
    And there you have it…..

Leave a Reply

