Status update: Becoming Colombian

November 4, 2009 at 11:13 am (Colombia)

While I will forever be loyal to my home and native land, I am definitely adjusting to how things work in Cali. Here’s a few signs of my transformation to a Colombian way of life …

  • I can make juice from fresh fruit including orange and lulo.
  • I can listen to whole conversations in Spanish and only get lost a couple of times.
  • When plans change unexpectedly, I’m less inclined to freak out.
  • I never show up for my young adult Bible study on time (and I’m still early).
  • I can roughly convert from Colombian pesos to Canadian dollars in my head.
  • I have cravings for Colombian bread … this from the girl who could count on two hands the number of times she ate bread in a year.
  • The guard dogs barely bark at me anymore.
3 Comments

  1. andrewbpaterson said,

    haha…nice!
    Especially the 3rd and 4th…that’s SO my (Costa Rican) mom!!!

  2. Jason said,

    Ha ha, that’s awesome – I love the reasons! I remember some of these things from our adaptation to Burkina Faso, especially the changing plans one, and the money conversion one. Mmm, and I like bread.

  3. Kristine Gravelle-Rystenbil said,

    I love hearing this sort of thing Cheryl!!! You’re spending enough time there to settle in. This is what will allow you to get the most out of your experience abroad.

    Now, what I’ll be curious to see is the distanced perspective you’ll have when you come back.

    I’ve traveled to poorer countries and everytime I come back my ‘usual’ lifestyle feels very foreign and overly complex. I also tend to feel very grateful to have the amenities that I often take for granted – for example, computer access, tv and transportation.

Leave a Reply

