Oh, the excitement

October 26, 2009 at 12:02 pm (Colombia, To do before I die, Travel)

Apparently the fact that I’m currently living in Colombia and teaching English to high school students is not enough excitement for my life. 

If all goes as planned, I will be spending Christmas and New Years’ in Peru with my fabulous friend, Sheri. We are hoping to have two weeks to explore Lima, Cusco, Arequipa and Lake Titicaca. Machu Picchu is on our to-do list, as well as visiting a girl I have sponsored through Compassion Canada for the last several years. Sheri is the one who was brave enough to go skydiving with me, and we’re thinking bungee jumping over the Amazon jungle should be our next major thrill.

Sheri and I with our skydiving certificates. It wasn't the first adventure we had together and it won't be the last.

Sheri and I with our skydiving certificates. It wasn't the first adventure we had together and it won't be the last.

So, that’s December and early January. At the end of the month, my sister-in-law is due to have a baby boy and I am already impatient to meet my new nephew.

There will be another addition to the Brink clan in April, when my sister Lisa is due to have her third child. Another baby to spoil. 

Though school here ends in July, I will heading back to Ontario in May to be a bridesmaid in my dear cousin’s wedding. She is going to be a gorgeous bride and I am thrilled to be able to be a part of her big day. It also gives me a great excuse to return to Canada for a weekend and hopefully have a few moments with my family (and the aforementioned new baby) before jetting back to Colombia for another month and a half.

Chrissy and her fiance, Joel.

Chrissy and her fiance, Joel.

I’m also considering a quick excursion to Vancouver on my way home from Cali to visit the other new nephew, but that’s still dependent on a few other factors. Like my bank account, for example. As always, donations of air miles and cash to Cheryl’s Travel Fund are always welcome.

1 Comment

  1. Karen said,

    Ha ha, big plans!

    Awww, that’s awesome that your a bridesmaid! Man I can’t wait to see you again and get a big hug, I know thats a long way away but I still can’t wait! :)

    Love and miss ya!

Leave a Reply

