Recap: Oct. 11 – 17

October 17, 2009 at 2:40 pm (Colombia, Travel)

It has been a crazy week. I think this is the longest I have gone without blogging, and I apologize, but life is busy. To prove it, here’s my recap of this week.

Sunday – A group of my new friends here took me out to San Antonio, a really historic and artsy part of Cali. There’s a church hundreds of year old up on a hill, with a great view over the city.

The church in San Antonio with crowds of people hanging around inside and out.

The church in San Antonio with crowds of people hanging around inside and out.

We also wandered down one street with lots of locally-made crafts and jewelry before stopping for some shaved ice, which was basically a huge glass full of fruit with some ice at the bottom. Yum!

Monday – My incredible cousin and close friend got engaged to her Mr. Right and I am so excited for her … and the honour to be a bridesmaid in her wedding. 

Tuesday – After our first day back in class, a friend drove me back to the government agency to get my passport stamped. I’m now allowed to stay in Colombia for another month.

Wednesday – There was a massive thunderstorm just as class was finishing, and my Grade 6 students freaked right out. They were asking me to pray and practically hiding under their desks. It was pretty much chaos but kind of hilarious at the same time.

Thursday – I’m finishing up the first unit with most of my classes, so we played some fun review games.

Friday – I gave my first test to Grade 11. Apparently it was really hard; even my best students had trouble with it. Well, now I know what not to do.

Saturday – I just spent the last two hours on skype talking wedding plans with my cousin and a trip to Peru with my friend, Sheri. There is plenty to be excited about in my world. But now, I should probably get some work done. I have tests and homework assignments to grade, tests to write for next week, and lesson plans to do.

Chao, chicos!

1 Comment

  1. Jen said,

    Sounds like you’re having a great time! You’ll have a great time in Peru. The coastal areas are finally heading into summer and are getting warm with the sun out occasionally and then Andes are heading into their wet season, but it’s beautiful up there.
    I’m going to try to post photos on FB this week.

Leave a Reply

