Recap: Oct. 4 – 10

October 10, 2009 at 2:21 pm (Colombia)

Last week’s post on my weekly activities seemed like a hit, so I decided to make it a regular Saturday feature. There were no classes at Ekklesia this week, as it’s a national school holiday. Instead, we teachers spent our days updating the standards, definitions and purposes of the core courses we teach for the school’s files. Good times.

Sunday – Emilse prepares communion for the church every month, so I decided to help out. It was the usual grape juice and crackers … but we actually made grape juice. As in, throw the little guys in the blender, strain out the seeds and skin, and pour the rest into little plastic cups. Delicious.

Monday – My nephew had his first day of preschool! Unrelated to me, yes, but noteworthy all the same. 

Tuesday – The pastor’s daughter, Sarah, drove me to the north end of the city to apply for a visa extension. We had to do some running around to photocopy paperwork, pay fees, etc, but it went well and I enjoyed exploring more of the city.

Wednesday – I discovered the test booklet I have that goes along with my English curriculum is the student version … as in, I don’t have the answers. Looks like I’ll be writing all my own exams this year …

Thursday – The education laws in Colombia changed recently, so a few teachers spent several days writing an entirely new evaluation system for the school to comply with the legislation. They presented it to the rest of us professors; it’s clear and thorough, but also means more work for us especially since we’re already a month into the academic year and now have to adjust how we are grading our students.

Friday – For the third time in the week, someone I was supposed to meet with to discuss curriculum and lesson planning didn’t show up. I guess this is the Colombian way?

Saturday – My mom sent running shoes I left behind, so I attempted a jog around the makeshift basketball court here. It was hot, but I sweated it out for a half hour or so … it definitely felt good to be running again.

2 Comments

  1. Luis said,

    I came across this blog by accident and couldn’t stop reading it let me say that I know for what you are going through. It is truly a gem of a country. So I thought I’d give you my top two tips.. . I am a Colombian living in the USA and when a couple of my Americans friends went down there i told them… enjoy Cali. It´s defintely worth going.
    First the ñapa is something unique to Colombia. It is simply getting a little bit more than what you paid for. Be it an extra olive in your beer, two kinds of sauce on your sundae, an extra refill on your juice, or an extra hour of internet. Colombians always want you to come back, the ñapa helps ensure that you do. “Ask for the ñapa”

    Cali, Colombia is the most well-known region when it comes to their caribbean dance rhythms. Although salsa was originally a Cuban craze that popped up in the 40s and became famous in New York in the 50s, Caleños have truly embraced these exotics beats and made them their own. If you’re interested in shaking your tale-feather or spinning all night long, one of Cali’s many salsatecas has your name written all over it.

    Good Luck

  2. Amy said,

    So awesome to hear about your week . . . hope everything’s going well for you still, especially with your visa!

    (Wow, the comment above is interesting . . . sounds like my kind of place. :) )

Leave a Reply

