Hockey season

October 5, 2009 at 9:56 am (Sports and fitness) (, )

So I’m apparently part of my first regular-season hockey pool, despite being on a different continent from all the teams, players and other members of the pool.

My former coworkers at Metroland added me to their pool and picked a team for me since I was unavailable to chose my own. Somehow the Ottawa Senators were unfortunately excluded (and the Flames, my second-favourite team), but on the flip side, there are thankfully no Leafs. Hopefully my internet co-operates enough for me to catch a few games online; the NHL sked has already been dutifully bookmarked.

I managed to find a radio station broadcasting the Sens season opener online on Saturday; despite their loss, it was a patriotic moment for me to listen to the hockey game while sitting under a palm tree in Cali.

Here’s my team:

Forwards
Ilya Kovalchuck – Atlanta Thrasers
Brian Little – Atlanta Thrasers
Pavel Datsyuk – Detroit Red Wings
Jeff Carter – Philadelpia Flyers
Corey Perry – Anaheim Ducks
Bobby Ryan – Anaheim Ducks
Devon Setoguchi – San Jose Sharks
Jason Pominville – Buffalo Sabres

Defence
Sergei Gonchar – Pittsburgh Penguins
Zdeno Chara – Boston Bruins
Lubmir Visnovsky – Edmonton Oilers
Ryan Whitney – Anaheim Ducks

Goalies
Jonas Hillier – Anaheim Ducks
Semyon Varlamov – Washington Capitals

I’m currently tied for fifth place in the pool of eight people … but the season has only just begun.

3 Comments

  1. Blair said,

    Solid team. I think a few of the players are from Cornwall.

  2. Warren Baker said,

    Good team – varlamov will do well for you.

  3. newfcollins said,

    First off, if you want to win a hockey pool, don’t take any Sens. The whole point is to lead the league in points, not whining fans.

    Secondly, it doesn’t matter, because I’m in the pool, so I’m going to win again.

Leave a Reply

