Bluesfest with a media pass

July 16, 2009 at 9:01 am (Entertainment, Photos)

Bluesfest has been rocking the capital for a week already, with a whole weekend of shows still to come. I was able to snag a media pass for the entire festival, which has been a blast! Even though I wasn’t able to make it for some of the local performances, I have thoroughly enjoyed profiling Kanata bands, practicing my photography skills and shoving my way past screaming crowds to reach the pit.

I still would not call myself a professional, but I managed to snag a few shots that I’m pretty proud of. But with my brother’s 70-300mm lens and a blue paper that lets me slide past security to the stage, the accomplishment doesn’t seem quite as impressive.

Here’s a sampling of what I took. (Note: I don’t know how to remove the option of saving photos off this page, but please don’t do it! These pictures are not for public use.)

Saturday, July 11: Rachael Yamagata

Saturday, July 11: Rachael Yamagata

Saturday, July 11: Hey Rosetta! lead singer Tim Baker pounds the keys.

Saturday, July 11: Hey Rosetta! lead singer Tim Baker pounds the keys.

Saturday: July 11: Hey Rosetta! violinist

Saturday, July 11: Hey Rosetta! violinist Erin Aurich added so much to the rock tunes.

Saturday, July 11: Josh Ward plays bass and belts it out for Hey Rosetta!

Saturday, July 11: Josh Ward plays bass and belts it out for Hey Rosetta!

Tuesday, July 14: A typical Ice Cube expression.

Tuesday, July 14: A typical Ice Cube expression.

Tuesday, July 14: The rapper opened for Our Lady Peace on the main stage.

Tuesday, July 14: The rapper opened for Our Lady Peace on the main stage.

Tuesday, July 14: Our Lady Peace rocked the main stage. I heart Raine Maida.

Tuesday, July 14: Our Lady Peace rocked the main stage. I heart Raine Maida.

Tuesday, July 14: Steve Mazur, OLP guitarist

Tuesday, July 14: Steve Mazur, OLP guitarist, rocks out.

Tuesday, July 14: Raine Maida climbed the stage to take video on his flip cam while singing All You Did Was Save My Life.

Tuesday, July 14: Raine Maida climbed the stage to take video on his flip cam while singing All You Did Was Save My Life (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2nK4MwL5p_o).

2 Comments

  1. jackie said,

    your pics rock!!!

  2. breebug said,

    You’re pictures are great, but that’s not Steve… that’s Duncan playing the bass!!

Leave a Reply

