Canada day recap

July 3, 2009 at 8:54 am (Photos)

At the risk of overloading you with photos this week, I thought I would share some shots of my Canada Day adventures.

I learned something about my camera on Wednesday; when my lithium ion battery died after only about an hour at the first event I was covering in the morning, I took it out of my Nikon SLR and held it in my pocket. I kept removing it, holding it and snapping it back just in time to press the shutter and get the pictures I wanted. The battery lasted for another hour and I ended with a couple hundred photos from that event before I went home and charged it up. Good to know!

In the afternoon I hit up Parliament Hill to catch the shows.

In the afternoon I hit up Parliament Hill to catch the shows.

The Snowbirds were fantastic. I think I have a new life goal: ride in one of the planes during the Canada Day fly-by. How awesome would that be?

It was weird to see the Governor General's flag flying above the Peace Tower instead of the maple leaf, but I guess it's protocol whenever Michael Jean is on the Hill.

It was weird to see the Governor General's flag flying above the Peace Tower instead of the maple leaf, but I guess it's protocol whenever Michaelle Jean is on the Hill.

Amos the Transparent played in Kanata that evening. Their energy was awesome and I'm now a big fan.

Amos the Transparent played in Kanata that evening. Their energy was awesome and I'm now a big fan.

Check out the movement and enthusiasm in this shot. Love it!

Check out the movement and enthusiasm in this shot. Love it!

The 80s' rockers Loverboy headlined the Kanata show. Awesome and hilarious all in one.

The 80s' rockers Loverboy headlined the Kanata show. Awesome and hilarious all in one.

 The lead singer decided he wanted to get in on the media’s action, so he asked for my camera and then took a picture of me with the crowd from the stage. The photo turned out terribly, but I gave him a high five anyway.

It was super entertaining to watch all the adults who grew up with this band rocking out.

It was super entertaining to watch all the adults who grew up with this band rocking out.

The fireworks capped off the night. Happy 142nd, Canada!

The fireworks capped off the night. Happy 142nd, Canada!

4 Comments

  1. test only » Blog Archive » Canada day recap said,

    […] See the original post here: Canada day recap […]

  2. Karen Brink said,

    Nice pics Cher! Looks like you had a good time. :)

    Love, Kare

    P.S. Can’t wait to see you tonight or tomorrow! Whenever you’re coming this weekend! :)

  3. Katie said,

    Nice work! I keep meaning to check out Amos live because I was in the same curling league as Jon Chandler, one of the band members. Plus one or more used to be in Lindsay’s boyfriend Drew’s old band, Forty Cent Fix. Yeah, talk about a friend of a friend, ha ha. Anyways, I’ve heard nothing but good things so I need to hurry up and check ’em out.
    I saw the Kanata fireworks from the Palladium Drive overpass at the 417. :) They were nice, but I ended up watching a giant cluster of fireflies. Sooo pretty.

  4. flash-player said,

    Great post!

Leave a Reply

