Cali, Colombia

June 30, 2009 at 9:12 am (Colombia, Ministry, To do before I die, Travel)

I’m moving to Colombia.

There’s a million things I could say about this and I’m not quite sure where to begin. Most of you have probably already heard the news anyway.

Here’s the short version: I’ve wanted to do a missions/humanitarian trip for a long time. I had pretty much finished an application for a volunteer position in Peru when this opportunity to teach English in Cali, Colombia was brought to my attention.

You might be thinking, “Cali? As in, drug capital of the world.” Yup. That Cali. Though that reputation isn’t entirely accurate anymore. 

Colombia ... the place I'll call home for nearly a year.

Colombia ... the place I'll call home for nearly a year.

I’m going to South America to teach for one academic year at Ekklesia School, which is part of a church belonging to the same affiliation as the congregation my parents attend (and I used to). I’ve met the pastor – a phenomenal woman of God. She’s one of the few that speaks English there, however, so I’ve been cramming Spanish and will continue until I get on the plane and after.

Which brings me to departure time. I don’t have an exact date yet, but it will be mid August. So very soon. My last day of work here is July 28. I’m going to spend a couple of weeks vacationing with family before I fly south. I’ll have just over a week to do some training and preparation before I get in front of a classroom.

It’s true, I have no teaching experience whatsoever. All I knew in Spanish was senorita, adios and gracias before a few weeks ago. I’m freaking out a little. This trip also means I am giving up my dream of going to the Vancouver Olympics next February; I’ll just set my sights on London in 2012.

I’m ridiculously excited. This is something I’ve wanted to do for a long time and the door has swung open wide. Despite a few nerves, I know God has called me to do this and he will both equip me for the job and be with me every step of the way. Of that, I have no doubts or qualms. Plus, this is a great chance to travel – I can cross South America off my list – and experience more of the world.

This is my happy face - super stoked to be going to Colombia. :)

This is my happy face - super stoked to be going to Colombia. :)

Never fear, I will not disappear off the face of the earth while I’m gone. I’m not sure what the Internet situation is there, but I will keep this blog updated with photos, stories and whatever else strikes my fancy as often as possible. Feel free to send in your requests, comments and updates on your life so I don’t feel too isolated down there. I’ll also be blogging regularly about the process to prepare and actually leave for Cali.

So, what do you think? I’m going to Colombia!

5 Comments

  1. Kevin said,

    Lucky… I wanna randomly move to another continent…

  2. Cali, Colombia « Observations of a News Junkie | Colombiat oday said,

    […] Read the rest here: Cali, Colombia « Observations of a News Junkie […]

  3. Kerri said,

    wow! that’s exciting! good luck cheryl!

  4. Colombia » VENDO LANCHA 23 PIES | Colombia | Clasificados gratis en Colombia ... said,

    […] Cali, Colombia « Observations of a News JunkieI had pretty much finished an application for a volunteer position in Peru when this opportunity to teach English in Cali, Colombia was brought to my attention. You might be thinking, “Cali? As in, drug capital of the world.” Yup. … […]

  5. Jason said,

    This is so exciting, Cheryl. I can’t believe you leave in just a couple months! How’s the Spanish coming along??

Leave a Reply

