Playoff pool

April 15, 2009 at 8:48 am (Sports and fitness) ()

After numerous proddings, I decided to join my office’s hockey playoff pool this year.
I had no idea what I was doing.

There are seven of us. I am the only female and by far the least knowledgeable about hockey or pools. As in, the guys can actually pronounce all the players’ names and pretty much have all the team’s rosters down pat.
Me, not so much.
They were pretty accommodating though. Only once did I get a reaction that implied I was making a terrible decision. For the rest … well, I stole a few picks my coworkers were hoping for, so I guess that’s a good sign.
And hey, the Senators are on the golf course instead of the ice and I needed an excuse to be part of the playoff madness.

So, here they are. Don’t laugh … at least, not so I can hear you.

Michael Ryder – Boston Bruins
Dennis Wideman – Boston Bruins
Brooks Laich – Washington Capitals
Evgeni Malkin – Pittsburgh Penguins
Jordan Staal – Pittsburgh Penguins
Scott Hartnell – Philadelphia Flyers
Joe Pavelski – San Jose Sharks
Rob Blake – San Jose Sharks
Niklas Kronwall – Detroit Red Wings
Daniel Sedin – Vancouver Canuks
Pavol Demitra – Vancouver Canuks
Jerome Iginla – Calgary Flames

There you have it. As you can see, I’m lacking in strategy. I’ll update my place in the pool with each round of the playoffs. I’d love to see Calgary or Montreal in the final and a Canadian team take home the Stanley Cup this year.

Let me know what you think of my picks and leave your own in the comments below.

3 Comments

  1. blair said,

    You forgot the part about you being chosen to pick the order of the draft, and who you picked first and who you picked last.
    Grumble.
    And which co-worker you stole — yes I said it, stole, OK, maybe just creatively filched — the most picks from.
    Grumble.

  2. newfcollins said,

    First off, when Blair told me I had the second pick, I was so excited. Malkin for sure, I thought. Until I found out you were the first pick and took him instead.

    Nice list though. Good to see the Newfies represented (Ryder).

    P.S.- Pittsburgh has an ‘h’ at the end of it.

  3. Kevin said,

    Hey, you got Iginla, Malkin, and Sedin… Can’t be that bad of choices… Though I think I would’ve gone for Blake Wheeler before I picked Wideman… Assuming he was still available..

Leave a Reply

